What do you think is the most important purpose that art serves in our society

Does everyone look at art and artist from the same window? Should art serve a common purpose for all? Many people believe that art serves a purpose. Some different beliefs and ideas argue that art should be political, that it is good for the human spirit, or that art is for art and does not have to serve a purpose. In my opinion, art serves a purpose. The most important purpose of art is not to serve a political purpose, but to be good for the human spirit and to heal it. In other words, art for life's sake. Because art is the reflection and expression of a person's deep thoughts, perspective on life, the struggle for life. Sometimes it helps us to escape from the busyness and pessimism of life, sometimes it enables us to meet in common pain, and at this point, it is good for the soul. The most important purpose of art is to bring good to human life. Art is the reflection of the voices inside people. Many people want to see a different beauty, a different perspective in their hustle and bustle of life. I think art comes into play here. Because from time to time, when we are stuck between our problems, it is the art that refreshes us or distracts us. Most of the time, going to a museum, examining a sculpture, walking around a historical building opens one's horizons and refreshes one's mind. According to the Art As a Therapy: Alain De Botton (2014), people need art to escape the darkness and boredom in their lives, and that's how artworks are made. I agree with this idea because I think the main purpose of art is to escape for beauty and hope. Botton (2013) claims that in the right way, art helps us through difficulties, such as our desire for material things, our fear of the unknown, our longing for love, our need for hope. It is not always easy to see beauty and attention in the work we do in our daily lives. At this point, art takes us away from our daily ambitions and worries (Botton, 2013). On the other hand, art can touch our lives not only with goodness and beauty but also with darkness and pain. It is possible to heal our souls by directing our pain and sorrow towards art. Art gives us some strength and solace for the challenging tasks of our lives. It allows us to share the pain and unite in the same grief. By empathizing and sharing what others are going through, we feel that we are not alone. When we look at a portrait of someone who is suffering, the sadness in their eyes brings us closer to them and perhaps ourselves. In other words, art is good for people in many ways, and it helps them heal. Some people argue that art serves no purpose. In the article Art for Art’s sake(2019), it is mentioned that art serves no purpose, and that art is for art. It is claimed that art has no function and does not depend on the expression of utility. I don't agree with that because no matter what, art means something. Even if it doesn't give us any message, its construction has a purpose for the artist. It has meaning from the artist's perspective. Maybe it's a work made out of boredom, maybe a painting composed of harmony of colors, maybe just the desire to make the beautiful permanent and unforgettable. Ultimately, they all emerge from a meaning. No work can exist out of nothing. In other words, even a work made with only an aesthetic concern carries traces of the artist's life and thoughts. The fact that the purpose of its construction is not to touch people's lives cannot blunt or hinder this approach of people to art. Art is still for art, but it creates different purposes both for the artist and for other people. Another aim is to argue that art is political. Art should be influenced by political events, reflect them and guide people in this context. When we look at it, many works of art are affected by politics. In my opinion, art should be influenced by political events and should affect people when necessary. However, this need does not make this purpose the most important. Because in this context, art is also under the influence of human life, the conditions of the time, and even daily life. People use art to unite, build empathy and raise awareness. According to Robinson (2013), writers broke the prevailing paradigm to create a tale that was meaningful to their community. Some of these paradigms were about political issues. Even if there is no escape from this life or difficulties, the purpose is the well-being of people and reflection in life. So, no matter what, the most important purpose in art is for the sake of life. In summary, art serves people for many purposes. It includes political events when necessary. It brings people together and helps them defend their rights. Sometimes it doesn't need such a concern and it is done just for aesthetic concern. Only the artist's feelings, thoughts, and wishes are in question. But most of the time it is the escape point people need. It helps people escape from the difficulties and darkness in their own lives. It leads them to hope and peace. Sometimes it goes in the opposite direction and makes people merge with the darkness and grief in their own lives. It makes suffering common, brings people together, and in this way touches people's lives. Ultimately, art is indispensable to people no matter what.