“What do you think about racism in call centres and how to solve this problem? ”.

Recently, everyone has been arguing about the issue at hand, which is: “What do you think about racism in call centres and how to solve this problem? ”. In my opinion, I suppose that racism in call centres is a massive issue that endangers the development of the call centres and needs to be removed. Racism in call centres refers to unfair treatments at work in recruitment, payment, promotion, and so on. Employees are discriminated against in the workplace for many reasons, such as race, skin color, sex, or national origin. Employees of ethnic minorities may be paid less than other employees in the same position. In addition, employees may suffer from not being supported and denying their performance. Moreover, they are sometimes humiliated and offended by customers or clients on the line. For instance, an Indian call center agent named Sanjana shared a story in a personal interview, which is written in a book titled Answer the Call: Virtual Migration in Indian Call Centers. In the interview, she shared, "This consumer said, 'Are you from India? ' [. . . ] So I said, "Yeah, I am an intern. I am here doing calls. I am talking from Bangalore. ' She is like, 'I don't like to talk to Indians". It is rude and disrespectful. I assume call centres should concentrate more on this problem to prevent discrimination in the workplace. Now the issue arises, how to deal with racism. First and foremost, call centres implement programs in order to educate their staff. It will build a healthy and productive workplace. For staff, they should be educated about how racism impacts the workplace and themselves and the advantages of removing discrimination. On the other hand, supervisors and managers ought to be trained in soft skills and diplomatic ability. These skills will help them be more professional in organizing their work and avoid causing uproar. Eventually, supervisors should increase interaction between staff to create a rapport in call centres. As a result of rapport, companies will reduce negative workplace treatments related to racism. Binna Kandola, who is a British business psychologist and author of Racism at Work: The Danger of Indifference, compared racism to a virus that lingers in organizations. Hence, this is a challenge that call centres must face. However, I strongly believe that call centres will sort out racism through the above solutions.