What can we do to alleviate global climate change?

Global climate change has had observable adverse effects on the environment, such as dangerous increases in temperature, industries, such as those related to textiles, exacerbate these adverse effects. In fact, we became aware of the negative impact on global climate change related to textile industries after watching a movie called “the life cycle of a T-shirt". We started to think that there must be some way (that) can address this problem. So, what global climate problem does the textile industry cause and what can we, as individuals, do to help alleviate this problem? Well, did you know that, to make one average T-shirt, 2, 700 litres of water is needed? This is equal to 30 full bathtubs of water. Moreover, cotton, the material often used in the creation of T-shirts, is exposed to more pesticides and insecticides than any other crop in the world. The bleach and dye used in the process of making textiles contains cancer-causing substances. Later, these are released as toxic wastewater which has carcinogenic and environmental costs affecting the health of field workers and the surrounding ecosystem, not to mention. After manufacturing, all those t-shirts travel by ship, train, and truck to be sold in high-income countries. A process that gives cotton a massive carbon footprint. Apparel production accounts for 10% of global carbon emissions. And it’s escalating. Cheaper garments and the public’s willingness to buy boosted global production from 1994 to 2014 by 400%. But there are things we can do as individuals and consumers: A practical solution to this problem is to reuse and recycle existing textile waste by selling or donating your unwanted clothes to second-hand shops or using them for other purposes such as a wiping cloth. However, we all know these methods have their own problems. So, we came up with an idea which can be a perfect solution for reusing items. It’s “Re-Jeans”! It is a community platform to redesign your old clothes into fresh new catchy items. But how? First, you must take a picture of the item you want to redesign. Then Re-Jeans’s AI image recognition will recognize your item and show you the best redesigning ideas uploaded by other users. After that you follow the instructions one by one until you meet your new go-to item. You can also upload your instructions on Re-Jeans. You don't even have to take a lot of time to type and search the right shape and watch 20 to 30-minute videos. Re-Jeans has simple instructions so you can save a lot of time while enjoying recreating your old clothes. So, as we mentioned, the textile industry has an incredibly negative impact on the environment. Re-jeans could be the perfect solution that anyone can contribute to. By joining the re-jeans community, you can save the environment and you can help reverse climate change. So why don’t you join us?