What can governments and individuals to reduce the problem of road accidents?

The increasing number of road accidents is an ongoing concern which many societies have to deal with. Before suggesting solutions, the underlying reasons for the problem must be examined. One of the main causes is that there are many narrow and potholed roads which makes the driving more difficult. Another cause is the unqualified drivers, who are not having proper training and experience to ride vehicles on roadways. Last but not least, the punishments that are not severe enough which makes drivers unafraid of the consequences for dangerous driving. Measures must be taken to combat this disturbing trend. One way to deal with the problem is for governments to improve the roads. The roads should be made wider with more lanes and all potholes in roads should be fixed which makes roads safer. If this were happen, the driving would be better and the car accidents would be reduced. Another useful suggestion would be to raise difficulty level of driving test. The driving test should be harder to pass which leads only competent and qualified drivers be given a license. In this way, only capable and responsible people would be driving and it would be safer for all of us. An alternative way to deal the problem is to make punishments for drivers more stricter. The governments should be taken more severe penalties for dangerous driving, for example, drinking or speed violations. This would enable them to detect drivers from breaking laws due to heavy fines. In conclusion, road accidents is a concerning issue which requires immediate global action. The sooner the aforementioned measures are put into action, the more significant the solution would be.