Smoking is the cause of millions of deaths each year. Therefore, there should be a worldwide ban on smoking.

It is a well-known fact that over recent years there has been an Increase in the number of smokers globally. However, I believe that this disturbing trend should be reversed by prohibiting the cultivation and sales of tobacco. In this essay, I will justify my viewpoint us, relevant supporting evidence and examples. One way to support my viewpoint is from a health perspective. Not only can this habit lead to lung cancer and respiratory illnesses in the smoker but it can also affect the health of those around who inhale the smoke. Recent statistics have proven that passive smokers are exposed to the same dangers as the smokers themselves. With regard to the economic aspect, smoking adds an extra expense to the smoker's budget. Its cost can be quite significant when calculated on a monthly basis not to mention the financial burden of medical bills for visits to the doctor. This money could be used for more productive reasons such as your business or even a holiday for relaxation. It could be argued that the tobacco industry provides a vital income for families in developing countries. They make a living from growing crops, drying the tobacco and preparing it for distribution to developed countries to be made into cigarettes. These families would lose their livelihood if a worldwide ban were enforced. In conclusion, although there may be valid arguments in favour of banning smoking, I am inclined to believe that this practice is dangerous for health and economic reasons. However, governments should provide financial assistance to tobacco farmers to change their crops in order to ensure a steady income.