What are your views on the question, “Should people convicted of minor crimes do community service rather than go to prison? ”

Recently, giving punishments to criminals who have different crimes is a furious debate. Some people assume that going to prison is a heavy penalty for those who are convicted of minor crimes, hence, they should do community instead. In contrast, some argue prison is essential to punish them. I firmly believe criminals with minor crimes should have a lighter punishment compare to serious criminals. To begin with, minor offenders doing community service remain part of normal society. first of all, it is necessary for providing education and vocational training for minor crimes such as shoplifting or pickpocketing. Creating a new living environment can help them keep their jobs, live at home with their families leading to a decrease in crime rates. For instance, an offender who is released from prison has opportunities to mingle with the community, therefore, they can be aware of their wrongdoing and tackle it gradually. On the other hand, community services can save taxpayers money for the government. While community service costs little, prisons are costly to run and the authorities can not manage the number of prisoners every day. For example, people who commit crimes may escape from prisons whenever because of the lack of jailers. In other words, lawbreakers can own a stable job for living resulting in improvements of the national economy. On the contrary, offenders working for the community may pose a threat to society. Unfortunately, criminals can take part in unlawful acts again and commit crimes as a way of making a living because they think that society will not accept them. What is more, they can take revenge on someone who accused them. To sum up, although some people claim minor criminals should be received prison sentences. I am still in favor of the perspective that doing community services is a good way for changing their behaviors.