What are the pros and cons of watching TV for children

It is undeniable that in our age of technologies people, especially children, are becoming more and more obsessed with television. While TV provides us with almost all the information in the world, there is considerable drawbacks of this great invention. This essay will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of viewing small screen. To begin with, Television has a number of benefits which plays an important role in child development, there are numerous programmes about Math, Science and History which enables them improving their knowledge about a particular subject. In addition, through channels like Discovery, they learn about different cultures and various endangered species of plants and animals. Furthermore, after a tiring day at school, it can provide them fun and relaxation in the form of entertainment programmes. Lastly, through Television they get the latest updates about the national and international issues. For example, in a recent survey in India, It has been observed that children who view educational content on TV has better intellectual skills than those who are only studying. On the other hand, there are some improper aspects associated with seeing TV. Firstly, the adolescents become addicted and spend most of their leisure time with it, thus, get distracted from their studies and face various health defects like eye problems, stress, depression. Besides, seeing horror content, they get scared and this phobia remains with them throughout their life. Furthermore, watching violent stuff, sometimes results in aggressive behavior and get them indulged in crime. To illustrate, the current journal of Times of India reported that there has been an increase in the number of crime cases registered against the young. To conclude, undoubtedly, small screen plays a crucial role in the development of the child by offering them a lot of educational and entertainment programmes, although, it has some disadvantages which cannot be ignored, but, they are quite less as compared to its benefits.