Some people believe governments should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads are the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

It is indubitable that traffic congestion is a growing concern in many parts of the world. In order to mitigate this problem, some individuals suggest that motorways should be made. Others, however, believe that trains and subway lines should be constructed. Both of these methods will be analyzed below. I personally believe that a combination of both approaches is the ideal solution to ameliorate the problem of traffic congestion. There are a plethora of reason people say that building more road networks can help in traffic reducing. Firstly, as in this busy world, the private vehicles are more accommodated by the peoples in the cities for faster commuting. Secondly, the cost of building roads is cheaper than of building trains and subway lines. Thus, it can help government to contribute the same money in different sectors like Education and healthcare. On the other hand, those who are for the construction of the mega rail systems, give their reasons as follows. To begin with, it is more effective method to improve traffic condition. There are compelling evidences to support the investment in such public transportation. In such countries where subway systems have been made up to standard, the number of private vehicles came down. Trains can carry a large number of passengers than any other mode of transport. Additionally, city dwellers can save time and travel expenses. For instance, in New Delhi, many people now use the metro trains instead of private vehicles because of the comfort and quality. I personally believe that in places where budget of the government constrained, a combination of both approaches is needed. For example, in India, the road networks are being expanded in almost all places, but subway lines are also being slowly and steadily in many cities. In the foreseeable future, the expanded road networks are going to prove inadequate, and so subway lines would remain the only solution. To conclude, both methods discussed above can provide relief to traffic congestion. However, in my opinion that the method to build trains and subways, would prove better in the long run.