What are the pros and cons of making students do exams?

Exams are one of the most common assessments, intended to measure children’s knowledge, skills, etc. Now they seem to bring a lot of stress, anxiety, and even comparison with peers from parents. However, it is undeniable that exams are really beneficial if taken in the right spirit. The aim of this essay is to discuss the pros and cons of this idea before coming to a conclusion. To begin with, getting examinations occasionally inspires students to make more effort intellectually. Another positive side is that it usually makes pupils revise the learned material. In the majority of cases, the most positive aspect of this is that children who pass exams with flying colors could get a reward for their hard work and thoroughly prepared. Many teachers can see the progress of individual students by checking their outcomes of regular exams, so that they can classify students into different academic levels. The second point goes with the truth that having exams can actually be beneficial for students. It helps to improve students’ skills of working under pressure. Forcing students to perform in front of a roomful of their peers with exam questions and time constraints could evaluate objectively and comprehensively assessment of their academic abilities. On the other hand, tests have cons that need to be considered. For one, these contribute to stress and anxiety as youngsters are pressured to study. It somehow affected their exam performance. By all means, sometimes making students do exams may be unfair. For example, some students are making mistakes; for instance; cheating, unfair marking. Additionally, A student may be good in expressing his thoughts on paper and others may be good in presentation, teamwork, leadership or soft skills. To sum up, exams were, are and will be a part of our lives and all of them are new experiences for us. Therefore, I believe that the benefits of exams far outweigh their drawbacks. .