What are the problems and solution of using digital media?

Today, digital media plays an essential role in our lives as it brings multiple benefits to people. It enables us to exchange, share information and do business online, but it also has severe impacts on them. In this essay, we will discuss some of the significant problems of using digital media and suggest solutions to the problems. Cyberbullying is one of the most major problems of using digital media. People use electronic devices, the Internet, or social media such as Facebook to harass victims by verbal abuse or spreading the rumors about them. Most cyberbullying's victims, who are impressionable, are adolescents and teenagers. Harassment may cause victims to experience anxiety, depression, love self-esteem, and in some cases, to commit suicide. One solution to cyberbullying may include parents educating their children about social responsibility before giving them mobile phones or access to the Internet. They could be taught to be responsible for what they post and aware of what should or should not be shared on social networks. Another primary problem of utilizing digital media is online gambling addiction. People, especially young generations, devote a large amount of time to online games and this can contribute to negative effects. Physically, hours in front of a monitor can be harmful to health issues with eyesight and obesity. Mentally, if children spend too much time living in a virtual world, they may lose the ability to make friends and socialize in a normal way. To address this problem, parents might encourage their children to get more physical exercises. Moreover, parents may want to limit time playing online games and instead encourage outdoor social activities like sports. To conclude, although there are several significant problems of digital media usage, solutions could be taken to mitigate the problems. In my view, however, the effective solutions is parents should and must take time, regardless of how busy their schedule is, to guide and supervise children's activities.