What are the possible effects of living long?

In developed world, the average life expectancy is increasing dramatically as a result of advanced medical technology. Longevity seems to be a good thing but it also caused a lot of problems. The advantages from life expectancy can be seen from both individuals and the society. As for society, longevity allows people to contribute more to the community beacause old people who have many years of experience could continuously work instead of having retirements. In some cases, senior citizen tend to find a non- physically demanding jobs, therefore, there could be an increase in labor source. As for individuals, they spend most of their life working and taking care of their family. So it is sense that people deserve a healthy and peaceful old age after the amount of paid work. . On the other hand, with parents living longer, children can have more time to stay with and show filial respect to them. So longevity helps to promote the harmonious relationship among family members. On the contrary, there are some problems related to this issue. The most significant concern is associated with medical problems which place a heavy burden on many nation’s health systems. In other words, as life expectancy increases, it entails many age-related chronic diseases such as diabetes, articulation disorders or Dementia. As a result, the demand for geriatricians and medicals supplies soars, posing challenges to many country. In addition, senior citizens are often faced with outliving their savings. Evidence suggests that retiree spend a significant portion of their saving on travelling and entertaintment since their saving could not enough to pay for the ever- increasing heathcare costs. Overall, although, longer life expectancy puts burden on the society. the benefits both people and the world can get from the phenomenon of people living longer are irreplaceable and undeniable. It is the truth that longevity is a symbol of civilization and better life.