What are the positive effects of a good transportation network

Transportation is the movement of people, animals and goods from one place to the other. The effectiveness and efficiency of transportation can not be over emphasized as it has both positive and negative impacts on the economy of any nation. This essay will dive into the positive effects of a robust transaportation network. Firstly, a good transport network could determine the ease of doing business in a particular location. Investors all over the world consider how easy it is to do business before investing in any country. One of the indices for measuring the ease of doing business is the available transport network. Investors want to have reasonable assurance regarding the possibility of free flowing movement of its employees as well as goods and services, around the cities and accross locations either via road, rail, water and air. In addition to the above, a good transport network helps to reduce the start up cost of a company. The availability of rail lines and good road networks translate into the company channeling the available working capital into for other things as the need to acquire staff buses will not arise. The multiplier effect of this is that the employee cost of hiring a driver, fuel cost and maintenance cost will be eliminated. Thus, these cost savings will be channelled into other acquring other assets. Consequently, the company will make more profits and this will result into more tax for the government. Thirdly, the effectiveness of transportation network involves putting alternative means of movement in place to avoid dependence on a single system. This implies that road, rail, water and air transport will be made available and affordable for the movement of people, services and goods. As a result, the stress of traffic jams and frequency of sick leaves arising from traffic menace will be reduced to the minimum. Also the wastage of man hours arising from road conjestions will be largely removed. In conclusion, good transport networks do not only help improve the lives of individuals and corporations but in general, translates into increased foreign direct investment for the country. it also helps to provide more funds for the government inform of revenues and taxation.