What are the interesting points about food and drink?

Visitors to Britain often have varying opinions about all sorts of aspects of the country, but most seem to agree that the food is terrible. The answer cannot be that British tastes are different from everybody else’s. The most common complaint is not that British food has a strange, unpleasant taste, but rather that it has very little taste at all. The vegetables, for example, are overcooked. It is all too bland. Another possible explanation is that most visitors to Britain do not get the opportunity to sample home cooking. They either eat the food cooked in an institution, such as a university canteen, or in rather cheap restaurants and cafés. These places are definitely not where to find good British food. Typical British cooking involves a lot of roasting (roast beef with roast potatoes and vegetables is supposed to be the English national dish), which does not suit the larger-scale production or the quick preparation which is required in such places. For one thing, food should, according to British people, be eaten hot, which is difficult to arrange when feeding large numbers of people.