what are the causes of environmental degradation

As determined by the environmentalist, rapid urbanization, increasing exploitation of natural resources and air pollution have challenged the natural environment and ecological chain of Kathmandu valley. For this regard; “Since the emergence of democracy in Nepal in 1992, the government services are barely functioning and the situation will deteriorate rapidly unless a radical rethinking takes place in relation to urban growth, water supply and demand and pollution” (Schreier and Shah 47). Since the emergence of democracy in Nepal in 1992, the trend of environmental degradation and ecological damage has been more rapid in the comparison of pre1992. Such a trend clarifies that changing human behavior has adversely impacted the ecology and natural environment of Kathmandu valley furthermore such behavior has produced air pollution and surged the risk factors regarding health. As a matter of fact, the vulnerable status of Kathmandu based environment compels the human organism to rethink about the urbanization strategy, implemented in Kathmandu metropolitan city. Moreover, such environmental degradation causes global ecology also. Consequently, to rethink the ecological predicament and environment of Kathmandu valley is ethical as well as justifiable. This is clarified by environmentalist that the source of drinking water is deteriorating and quality of air is getting polluted consequently such condition impacts the overall natural environment. The above mentioned data specifies that the relation between nature and life is under the threat of such a crisis. Additionally, deforestation and old vehicles have multiplied adverse impacts on the natural environment.