What are the benefits of teaching a foreign language in shools?

Recently, some countries have started to implement a foreign language as part of the school's curriculum. However, some argue that this addition is unnecessary and students are better off without an extra language. In my view, the decision to require the study of an additional language will help young students immensely down the road as foreign language knowledge has a plethora of benefits. To begin with, it's no secret that every language is an important element of a whole culture. When an individual learns a foreign language, what comes along is familiarisation with all the cultures that are associated with that particular language. For instance, a person who speaks Spanish learns many things about countries such as Spain, Mexico, and Colombia without having to travel to any of these places. In addition, knowledge of a foreign language broadens your horizons and makes you stand out from the crowd. A person who is bilingual or even multilingual is often thought to be smarter, wiser, and more unique than the rest. Thus, it is evident that learning an additional language can be quite beneficial for an individual. Furthermore, foreign language study strengthens your CV and improves your performance in school or university. Bilingual or multilingual people are often a lot more intelligent and intellectual as their knowledge of additional languages has broadened their horizons. It goes without saying that, people who are smarter, are more capable of handling challenging tasks and thriving under pressure. Even though some subjects in schools or universities can be quite daunting for the majority of students, brighter students have the upper hand as they are more likely to excel in these types of challenging environments. Also, an individual who speaks an extra language or two is more competitive in the job market. Employers are aware of the fact that multilingual people tend to be more productive as they are brighter. Therefore, foreign language study is a crucial part of the educational system as it results in more responsible, wise, and intellectual adults. All in all, I believe that every school in the world should require the study of a foreign language if it has the means and resources to do so. Knowledge of additional languages is beneficial for everyone in every aspect of their lives.