What are the benefits and problems of watching television?

These days, watching TV is a quite common habit for young people. Especially children like watching television and spend over time sitting in front of it. However, there are both pros and cons to doing this indoor activity. This essay will try to examine the positive, as well as the negative aspects of this idea before, arrive at a conclusion On the bright side, it is hard to deny the advantages that watching broadcasted programs can bring to the youngest people of society perhaps. The most significant of these is that an additional resource of useful information. For instance, they can acquire knowledge of nature, science, and politics from documentaries. Another major positive aspect of staying on in front of a screen is that it is possible to learn a foreign language. For a clear example, VTV7- the educational channel of Vietnam, which is my favorite one has a lot of interesting English programs like: “ crack me up”, “follow us”, “IELTS face-off”, etc. These programs have been helping enormous amounts of Vietnamese students to improve their English. Besides, TV is also considered a way for the youngster to unwind by watching or something like that On the dark side, it is not possible to overlook the problems that are related to watching Television. Firstly there is no doubt that it consumes lots of children’s time. Many teenagers spend much time watching TV instead of doing exercise or building interactive relationships with their friends or others, which will bring some bad impacts on both physical and mental health. Secondly, our society can indeed become more competitive and justify violence in the future. It is clear now, why some broadcasted programs are considered negative that leads to some children may be affected by inappropriate content on TV and make children more violent that can commit a crime. In summary, this is a complex issue because there is an equal number of advantages and disadvantages. However, my personal view is that the advantages of television outweigh the disadvantages as I believe that children either can choose wisely what to watch themselves or they are advised by their parents.