What are the benefits and problems involved in introducing compulsory sport in schools throughout your country?

In recent years, there has been a momentous shift from an academic-oriented to sports inclusive schooling globally. While some people believe that having physical education as part of the education system is absolutely critical, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons to explicate the benefits of making sports compulsory in schools. To begin with, one strong argument among those that believe sports is not as important as academics is that, ultimately the child's performance in academics is what determines a successful career. Today, the competition has risen to alarming levels which have caused those without a formal college or schooling to be left out of the rat race. As a result, many schools stress on developing and honing a student's academic acumen. For example, empirical evidence suggests that parents in India start training their students for competitive exams early-on, which hampers exposure to sports and other extra-curricular activities. However, there are several arguments in favour of introducing mandatory sports in academic institutions worldwide. Firstly, sports not only allows the children to be physically fit but also wards off possible future health risks due to our contemporary sedentary life. For example, children who do not participate in sports activities are more prone to obesity. In addition, there are numerous examples of successful sports stars who have had limited education but have achieved great success, while pursuing their passion. Consequently, with an increase in literacy, more parents are understanding the impact of sports on the overall development of their child. To conclude, despite continuing stress on academics in developing nations, most schools are adopting compulsory sports or physical education as part of their academic curriculum. In my opinion, active participation in sports can help students achieve successful careers while pursuing their interests.