What are the advantages/ disadvantages of Gene Editing?

Advanced genetic engineering technology such as CRISPR/cas9 is used to edit parts of the genomes within organisms to prevent inherited genetic diseases. Although gene editing brings many advantages to society, it also has some major drawbacks which need to be taken into consideration. Gene editing is widely used in agriculture to produce genetically modified crops which are resistant to harsher environmental conditions, chemical treatments, and diseases, to increase food supply to reduce end hunger and malnutrition problems in the world. However, it can cause reduction of genetic diversity of plants and loss of global biodiversity which is a threat to an organism’s existence. Moreover, there are major health issues of GM crops for humans such as toxicity, loss of reduced nutrition, increase possibility of allergic reactions and the potential development of cancer. Another advantage of genome editing is extending the lifespan of organisms and improving the healthcare sector. Additionally, scientists can make designer babies, which reduces the occurrence of genetic disorders such as Down syndrome, sickle cell disease, muscular dystrophy, and cystic fibrosis. In contrast, making designer babies is against human rights because it violates babies’ rights without their consent and causes moral and ethical issues because it brings introduces an element of inequality between designer and non-designer babies. In conclusion, every breakthrough has both positive and negative sides, so we need to balance the applications of advanced genetic engineering technology in society to create a safe, harmless and peaceful place for all organisms.