The only way to prevent overcrowding in cities is to prevent migration from rural areas.

Population in the urban areas is increasing day by day due to the availability of better opportunities in terms of education, health and job. Some people believe that the migration of people from rural areas to urban areas needed to be controlled to prevent overpopulation in cities. However, I disagree with this viewpoint as it is not an appropriate way to control the increasing populace. To initiate with, to prevent overcrowding all the citizens should be taught about family planning. It is a good measure that teaches people about the benefits of having a small family rather than a large one. For instance, most of the literate women have only one or two children whereas illiterate ladies have many children. In addition to this, expanding the areas of cities where people live can also serve as an appropriate way to reduce the congestion in metropolitan cities. Thus, education and more area can be used as a weapon to control overcrowding in the cities. Besides, the availability of proper infrastructural planning like building industries outside the cities in the suburbs or in the countryside. It fulfills the dual purpose of reducing overcrowding as most of the people shift in the nearby area to avail industrial opportunities and also it balances the growth rate between urban and rural areas. For instance, in China, the government had supported industries in the suburbs and the results of this approach were positive as it limits the growth rate of population in cities by 43%. Furthermore, providing ample opportunities for jobs and better education and health facilities in the rural areas also limit the masses traveling to cities for accessing these facilities. To conclude, stopping migration is not a viable option to reduce population density. Educating people and infrastructural development in outskirts can be the suitable alternatives to tackle this problem.