What are the advantages and disadvantages of tighter gun control?

Whether a harsher gun control should be implemented by the government has become one of the most controversial debates all over the world. This essay will shed light on both advantages and disadvantages of this law. On the one hand, tighter gun laws seem to be a driving force behind a peaceful society. First and foremost, it can help to decline the mortality rate among communities. In other words, it is undeniable that firearms are deadly weapons directly related to violent behaviours as well as crimes. Hence, should those be imposed a tough restriction, authorities will be able to ensure the welfare of civilians with more ease. To exemplify, in America, states that currently have harsh gun control in place saw a decrease in either murders or suicides. Furthermore, tough gun laws will reinforce dwellers’ belief in their government. As the mortality rate declines remarkably, it is no doubt that citizens will feel safer and believe more in the power and effectiveness of the legislation. On the other hand, it is argued that implementing tough firearms control will trigger several repercussions. One of them is the promotion of illegal gun owners. To illustrate, since laws cannot eradicate the demand for guns of civilians, there will be more black markets opened to meet it, which goes hand in hand with accelerating crime rate. Thus, the control of governments will be harder than ever before. Besides, it is likely a contradiction to the right of self-defence to prohibit firearms. That is because the presence of guns, for some individuals, keeps the average family safe. For instance, without a well-armed public, there is a chance that terrorists and other threats could take advantage of the defenseless public. In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks of tougher gun legislation. As a result, before making a decision whether to set it up or not, authorities have to consider each side carefully.