WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF PUBLIC LIBRARIES?

Public libraries not only have several benefits but also some drawbacks. On positive aspects, there are numerous advantages of public libraries. First of all, it is devoted to the members of all the communities. It is not vital to have a particular degree or designation to enter a public library, which probably may require a gate pass or a membership card to enter. Second, public libraries have perfect space for study, since they allow you to have all the necessary material on hand. Besides, this is a quiet place with the pressure from being surrounded by other people studying, including peers, other friends, or colleagues, who can give you a hand to solve any questions at specific times. The atmosphere of public libraries helps you get out of the rut, more concentrate, predisposed to learning. On negative aspects, public libraries still have some hindrances. First of all, one of the most downsides is public libraries are more inconvenient than online libraries. Apart from having the advantages of public libraries, online libraries also save transport expenses and time. Public libraries are gradually being replaced by online libraries, which are more and more utilities, common in modern life. Second, the resources of public libraries cannot be updated occasionally. The materials are out of date in the long run and were published many years ago, so it will uncomfortable for people to research. Nevertheless, public libraries have their own charm. Nothing can compete with the genuine experience that a book provides. Our generation is prone to avail shortcuts and that is why the habit of reading books is becoming obsolete. But these public libraries can restore that and enrich our literary culture.