What are the advantages and disadvantages of maternity leave?

Nearly all women and mothers wish to have their own babies and hugged them with love. Although they know how hard it is to have a baby, it is really worth it. Hence, the majority of companies and organizations try to provide convenient situations for both parents before and after the birth of infants. One of the services is offering maternity leaves for mothers and paid leaves for fathers. In spite of the numerous merits of maternity leaves, it occasionally has its own discomfort and disadvantages. One of the greatest advantages of maternity leave can be creating peace of mind for mothers. The last months of pregnancy and the first months after delivering/ giving birth are very critical for both mothers and infants. However, mothers need to have kind of absolute rest the last month of pregnancy and they need to spend a lot of time with their babies after giving birth. Newborn infants are dependent and need their mothers intensely. In fact, mothers breast-feed the babies days and nights, so they have to stay up at night to feed and take care of them. Under these circumstances, mothers always feel tired and not going to work can invigorate them physically and mentally. Maternity leave can cause some problems. According to statistics over 70% of companies and organizations do not pay maternity leaves. In the other words, mothers do not go to work and do not receive any salary. It exactly happens when a new member has been added to the family, so the expenses of life have been increased. Here, fathers are the only ones who have to carry the burden of making a living and this makes the family tolerate some financial problems. In addition, mothers spend a lot of time alone at home away from other people; it can put mothers in danger of depression. In conclusion, maternity leave is one of the services offered by organizations to give mothers this opportunity to think calmly about her newborn infant only. In my opinion the demerits of this service are nothing in comparison with its pros.