What are the advantages and disadvantages of interviewing candidates over the phone? Give reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the digital era, people can work effectively and conveniently anytime and anywhere by using cutting-edge technological devices. In the recruitment aspect, we not only interview the candidate directly but also discuss with them through some platform online and typically the short phone calls. In the bright sides, it will have some significant benefits for the recruiter and even applicant such as saving the time and money budget, categorizing the unsuitable quickly, … However, those exists some drawbacks such as having bias in judging the candidate, not evaluating them thoughtfully, … To begin with, we can’t deny the advantages of interviewing over the phone which is really convenient and time-saving. Actually, the recruiter must be in charge of the management and recruiting the potential employees for the company and their workload is never reduced. In the phone call interview, it can help them discuss with the applicant directly and immediately on schedule and can sort out the applicant who fits in the job requirement. By that way, they will simplify and optimize their workloads, and spend their time and even effort on other essential things. On the contrary, there are many disadvantages to discussing with the candidate by phone call. Not having eye-contact and directly interacting together, we will be subjective in the evaluation of applicant. In the phone call interview, we just know the candidates about the basic background and the simple tone of voice which didn’t express the applicant’s capabilities, attitude, specialized knowledge and even their talents. If we make the agreement to sign the contract with them based on those features, we will incorrectly assess their abilities and take on incapable employees. One of crucial things is the personality and lifestyle in wearing and communication which have a considerable impact on the matching between the employee and company’s culture. It is not to able do those things by interviewing over the phone. In conclusion, the recruiter and organization can save their time and money budget and discuss with the candidate quickly and conveniently over the phone. In contrast, it is hard to evaluate exactly and carefully the applicant’s abilities, attitude, and the suitability between them and company.