On the one hand, there are sufficient grounds to support a rise in fossil fuel

The past few decades have witnessed the inexorable exacerbation of environmental issues. While a number of people advocate that adjusting fuel prices is the optimal answer to the environmental puzzle, I firmly refute such a view and endorse that other well-rounded measures should be taken into account. On the one hand, there are sufficient grounds to support a rise in fossil fuel prices. Admittedly, such a proposal can discourage consumers from using their private vehicles, thereby urging them to use means of public transportation. This is particularly effective among low-income groups since they are relatively money-conscious. Therefore, the level of carbon dioxide emissions is likely to decline, contributing to environmental protection. However, this is a short – sighted view as higher fuel prices can only mitigate air pollution, but not other alarming global issues, namely water contamination, waste disposal and deforestation. Apparently, fuel price variations have no or little impact on those phenomena, thus, the suggestion of intervening the fuel market should be neglected. On the other hand, it is my concrete belief that other all-rounded actions should be considered. One of the most feasible solutions is the government should promulgate on protecting the environment, which involve heavy fines or even prison sentences on individuals or organizations posing dire threats to the environment. Another plausible measure is that citizens should raise their awareness of their consumption habits. Using environmentally – friendly materials such as paper or cloth shopping bags instead of nylon and bamboo straws instead of plastic ones can significantly help to eliminate waste disposed into lakes, rivers and oceans. In conclusion, I would reaffirm that raising fuel prices is not the most effective solution to environmental problems, and other afore-mentioned measures are far better.