What are the advantages and disadvantages of extracurricular activities for students?

In recent years, school systems not only educate students, but also provide a large number of extracurricular activities, which can help students in developing their skills and abilities. However, while it is believed that taking part in such activities can be beneficial in a variety of ways, there are several potential drawbacks that need to be taken into account. On the one hand, activities outside classroom environtment can bring certain advantages. Firstly, one of the main benefits of doing these activities is that you can improve your soft skills. Organized practical courses give students a chance to exercise and help teach communication skills, problem-solving skills, teamwork and collaboration, all of which are necessary during their grow up and prepare for their future jobs. Secondly, attending extra activities also play an important role in promoting the mental health. These days, students become increasingly stressed because of overwhelming timetables in the compulsory curriculum. Therefore, students will be relieved pressure of study and feel full of energy when they spend their time on hobby and doing sports. On the other hand, there are a considerable number of disadvantages. The first one is that being involved in extra curricular activities might be time management. As a result, students might have not enough time to complete their assignment, which fails to meet teachers’ requirements and poor study results. Another problem is that students can lose their studying motivation in academic program. They may experience some physical difficulties when they participate in such activities. For instance, heavy sport trainings may lead to some health issues. Students who join a sport club may get extremely exhausted and cannot spare enough time for anything else, which effects on academic and creates an imbalance.