Tourism brings enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its negative impacts as well. Do the advantages of tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

The tourism industry has developed further over the past decades owing to the upgradation of state-of-the-art facilities which provide travelers with maximum comfort. Despite the fact that host countries obtain a profusion of benefits from tourism, there are some potential drawbacks of this sector as well. Personally, I am inclined to the view that upsides of tourist trade outweigh downsides in the wake of the undermentioned factors. One cogent merit is that tourism augments the popularity of countries prodigiously. To elucidate, if the travelers are satisfied with the offered services and amenities during the journey, or approve touristic sites of the country, they will probably brag about the superior quality of their vacation, particularly, through social media. It allows the others to learn more about this country which increases the recognition of it. It can lead to worthwhile investments, substantial revenues, and outgrowth of tourism industry. Another upside of this sector is job creation. In detail, tourism provides the people who were previously unemployed with decent work opportunities that can improve their livelihood. This paves the way for the overall reduction of unemployment in the country, lifts burden on the government, and boosts income derived from taxes paid by workers. Consequently, tourism can be considered as a rewarding contributor to the economic growth. However, one of the major demerits of tourism is exploitation of local cultures. Commercialization can be observed in some countries where enormous masses of tourists’ flock to. In this way, ancient traditional tokens are turned into products such as souvenirs to be sold, which severely undermines indigenous cultures. The other downside worth mentioning is disastrous consequences ensued by environmentally-unfriendly behaviour of travellers. To elaborate, tourism leads to intense use of natural resources such as water and energy. For instance, swimming pools and golf courses require a lot of water. Cooling and heating systems of large hotels and resort complexes consume a considerable amount of energy. These factors exacerbate the issues related to resource scarcities. In brief, although tourism has some disappointing aspects, i believe that pros prevail over cons. I would be better that governments collaborate on various scrupulous projects in order to alleviate bad effects of this industry.