What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having a school uniform?

While some schools are extremely strict about their school uniforms, other schools have more of a relaxed approach towards them. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of children having to wear a formal attire. One evident benefit of students having to wear a school uniform is that there is no discrimination among them and hence equality is maintained. Irrespective of a child being rich or poor, his/her morale is never lowered by materialistic things such as other people wearing fancy clothes. For example, if a group of scholars are not wealthy enough to constantly buy new jeans or shoes, they might feel a bit down when they see other children flaunting their brand new attire. Another benefit is that it helps with keeping discipline. The whole point in attending school since a young age is that it helps the process of imparting methods of discipline among youth. Well-cut nails, sufficiently trimmed hair and properly ironed uniforms are set of rules everyone has to abide by. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to wearing a formal attire. Firstly, students are prohibited from expressing themselves via clothes. Fashion is an independent choice and everyone should be allowed to dress as they please. For instance, a transgender student will face major difficulties in choosing a boy or a girl uniform. Secondly, having to wear uniforms daily can affect the creativity and experimental capabilities of the youth. In later stages of their lives, they might face dilemmas on what to wear in different situations. In conclusion, although equality and discipline are major advantages of having to wear a uniform, lack of imaginative capabilities and not expressing themselves from a young age could be destructive.