What are some possible negative outcomes of mHealth when it comes to personal health and wellness apps?

In the article “Health and Wellness on the Go” from Making Connection 4 textbook (p. 83-p. 86), the author writes about health and wellness app. They point out that there will have a better way to support the experts caring their patients who cannot be cured effectively because of some disadvantaged reasons. First, the writer mentions the development of this kind of health app due to the increasing of technology, which improves the communication between patients and doctors. Second, they state that mHealth devices do not provide only the services for patients living far away from medical facilities, but also the healthy people. Lastly, although the efficiency in diagnosis of these apps have not yet been approved, people are still trusting in its indisputable functions in modern time. After reading this article, even though the author has a positive view on mHealth apps, from my perspective, I think about two negative incomes related this personal health and wellness apps. First of all, this type of app provides a healthy suggestion that is not helpful based on the information we enter, which is not checked by the experts. In other words, if we do not know clearly our own health indicators such as height, weight, potential diseases, and so on, these apps suggest a plan how we practice everyday or how much calories we can take each meal according to all the numbers we provide. For example, when I use a mHealth app, I enter only my height and weight, so the app suggests me to practice two hours per day to gain my aim losing two kilograms. Nevertheless, I do not care about the calories I consume, and I do not achieve my goal. Secondly, users trust all indicators on apps even though they do not know they have some serious diseases. In fact, the apps give us some indicators related heartbeat, steps that are usually accurate. In contrast, these technological devices cannot know our acquired diseases before if we do not provide. For example, my sister’s friend who had not any symptom of the heart disease in the past used a personal wellness app to improve his health by following the plan suggested. After practicing in few weeks, he felt not good, but he did not go to hospital to diagnose because the indicators were still alright. Fortunately, he had a general examination by company and recognized this disease. In conclusion, from my point, despite the benefits of mHealth apps, there are some issues that these apps are not helpful in achieving the aim and in recognizing the diseases, so it is important that we consider our purposes to use it by the right way.