What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate?

Studying at university is one of the hardest times in students’ life, especially for those who usually live far from their family because they have to stay in dormitary. And the characteristics of a roommate have a significant effect on their lives during this time. Here are certain qualities considered to look for a good rommate. To begin with, he should be a respectful person. For example, there will definely be the time when you and your roommate will disagree with each other. Although getting mad, that person might try to calm down, put himself in his’ roomate shoes and behave reasonably. That leads to the conflict can be easier to solve. Besides, each person has their own space, time and property. Waiting your turn to speak, using private things with permission or caring less about personal issue is a way showing that one respects his roomie. Communication is not only a foundation for a healthy relationship but also a tool for roommates to understanding deeply. Have you ever thought that two of you often have awkward conversations though living in a same room everyday. Many relationships are gradually ruined due to lack of good communication and without revealing themselves to their friends. Once talking, they will be willing to share thoughts, opinions and feelings so that they can know full well each other. In conclusion, living with a good roommate is important to students. Therefore, these qualities above will assist one if he wants to choose an adequately good roomie.