What are some of differences between British and American culture? Do you think that these differences can cause problems to English language learners? Explain your answer

It is true that although Britain and America are major English-speaking countries all over the world, some differences are seen in their culture. I strongly believe that this could cause a large number of tremendous difficulties for English learners. In this essay, I will mention and shed light on this problem. There is an array of differences between British and American culture that learners must encounter. The first aspect most people having trouble in is linguistic culture since a plethora of connective rules about vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar and stress in British English while the opposite is true for American one. To take word “colour” and “color” as a typical example, they have the same pronunciation but their spelling are different; moreover, almost American usually use preposition “on” before “ the door” rather than “at” in British English. Secondly, US culture values frankness and honesty in communication, to be more specific, the American are quite direct when circumstances are positive but they tend toward a slightly indirect style when providing negatice feedback. On the other hand, the British master the art of up or down tone and nuance. From such problems mentioned, these may cause barrier for English learners. I believe distinguishing the differences’ words about character, pronunciation and memorizing them is hard due to a huge number of words. For instance, when students study abroad in the USA, it will be difficult for native speakers recognise word “water” if they pronounce /wɔː. tə/ as the American usually speak /wɑː. t̬ɚ /. Furthermore, difference in communicative intonation, gesture may be problems. You can make opposite person feel unpleased and dissatisfied when you mistake these. In conclusion, I think that there are two main disparity between these culture being language and daily basic communication cause English learners difficulties in not only studying at school but also communicating with local speakers.