Unemployment is a problem facing many countries today. Should the government and/or business take an active role in reducing unemployment? Discuss and provide reasons.

In this day and age, unemployment rate has quickly increased and became a top concern in several nations all over the world. It would be argued by some that only the government or businesses play a practical role in dwindling such problem. In my opinion, however, both should cooperate to give unemployment benefits. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that the government should be responsible for helping the unemployed enter the world of work. The first reason is that the administration conducts many strategies which have wide-reaching effects in society; moreover, having a huge national budget is also a factor contributing to this plan’s success. However, there are a great number of other social areas the government has to provide financial support for such as medical care service, environmental protection campaigns. Besides, others believe that such problem only is measured by businesses due to the fact that its leaders easily communicate and understand difficulties those without a job must encounter to make ends meet. They can hire many of the unemployed that directly reduce this situation effectively rather than the government. Nevertheless, millions of dollars must be spent on workers which is beyond of the companies’ ability. On the other hand, I would argue that the government and businesses should work together to find the best way to solve this issue. This is because it helps the unemployed not only look for a job to meet daily basic need but also avoid engaging in social evils thanks to government charity. Furthermore, as the unemployment decreases, economic development is seen that benefits both businesses’ sales and the whole of society. For instance, many private companies claimed after collaborating with national authority in carrying out a cutting-unemployment plan, its turnover boomed dramatically and a number of offenders in this neighborhood dropped to the lowest level ever seen. In conclusion, although some people think that the unemployment problem is only solved by the government or business, I personally believe that great effort from both can measure such issue.