What are some effects of extensive reading?

As we all know, intensive reading is often used when teaching a new language. However, besides the good content listed, intensive reading still has many negative sections that have been solved by extensive reading, which has a number of positive effects for learners. Extended Reading is an approach to second language reading by providing the opportunity to read longer sections. First, it helps us build a lexicon. In fact, if we read a lot, children may encounter thousands of words and patterns of vocabulary that are not taught in textbooks. Moreover, it allows learners to develop an awareness of phrases and thousands of lexical phrases. Second, extensive reading helps us access grammar more effectively. The hundreds of grammars in the book don't practice enough to identify for real acquisition to happen. Extensive reading provides an opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of how grammar is used. For example, the Extended Reading Center website is a platform that provides more than 1000 reading texts, smart cards, games for learners to read, play and review while using. Vivid, flexible images also help us easily understand the grammar and situations in the context. Besides, it also helps learners build more fluent vocabulary when speaking, it makes listeners get a sense of lightness when communicating. For example, most sophomores pronounce it easier than before, because in the first year, the instructors give us an approach to broad reading by reading Mreader, course's books reading, and pronunciation correction right in class. Many words are pronounced by lecturers many times, students could read, listen, and pay attention to adjust pronunciation to correct intonation. To sum up, extensive reading brings us many positive effects. We should try to change the old way of learning by extensive reading.