What are benefits and drawbacks of video games

In this modern era, playing video games is a topic of public interest and concern. While video game certainly brings various benefits, it also causes some obvious drawbacks. On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational are the advantages of playing video games. Obviously, most people prefer playing virtual worlds games, which are the same as real-life that on a computer, to real-life pastimes. As a result, they can reduce stress and pressure after a hardworking or nerve-racking day working or studying. Furthermore, video games help improve language skills such as listening, reading, and speaking because many games are different from gamers’ mother language, so they have to learn other languages to communicate with other players. On the other hand, it is harmful to players who spend most of their time in a day playing video games. It cannot be denied that they are addictions. When gamers gain a high score, a good target, they are motivated to break the record, so they play continuously and repeat from time to time. Therefore, it is the causes time-consuming, instead of spending time playing games, they can do many things else which are profitable for their life. Moreover, playing video games too much can affect physical health. Their eyes may be affected negatively by harmful rays from an electronic device, and they may encounter eye-related diseases such as short-sightedness, or they can be obese because of sitting in the same place for a long time. In conclusion, although playing an important role in entertainment and education such as reducing stress and improving language skills are benefits of playing video games, its drawbacks include spending too much time playing games, the players can be addictive and it can affect their health.