What advantages can be gained if physical education and sports are made compulsory for students?

Nowadays, when society is developing more and more, to be successful we need to try hard in learning and training at school. Therefore, many students spend most of their time studying and pay little attention to physical activities and sports. Prolonging this situation will have negative effects on students. So what are the advantages if physical education and sports are made compulsory for students? Only by trying hard to study well can we achieve our goals in this developed and competitive world, that’s why studying is the most important thing for students. But just sitting at the desk doing homework all day and not spending time on other activities may cause bad effects on our health. Just studying for a long time will make us feel stressed and depressed. Besides, always looking at books and documents will not be good for our eyes, and may even lead to myopia. Sitting in one place for too long will make our body increasingly weak because of inactivity, which can cause prolonged tiredness or even obesity. There are a lot of students who think that sports are just a personal hobby and physical education is not necessary at school. By the way, how many students would voluntarily do exercise to improve their health if it was not a compulsory subject? Mandating students to play sports at school will help promote everyone’s health, giving them the opportunities to breathe fresh air and be outdoors after being under high pressure of studying. In addition, it also helps each student to meet and interact with their schoolmates, thereby making more relationships and becoming more and more active in daily life. For these reasons, physical education is very necessary at school and all students should be required to play sports as a subject of their core curriculum.