Wedding essay- opinion on the topic

In my opinion, weddings compared to the past are quite luxurious in horde of countries. This development is due to the change in the generations over decades although this may or may not be a positive upgrade in the standard of living due to its questionable importance. Older generations have always thought weddings as a way of joining two families in a holy matrimony. Hence the ceremonies were always religious and humble. The millennials today have developed a need for validation from the society or their family/relatives to be perceived as competent enough. Therefore, the social media platforms like Instagram, Facebook etc. have clearly convinced the people to upload their photographs or videos of the wedding ceremonies for business or a personal purpose which makes their standard of living appear lavish or luxurious enough. For this reason, the amounts of money spent in these ceremonies have increased exponentially. Personally I feel that, the impact of this ascending change depends on the purpose of doing it and how it is perceived by the society. For instance, the ceremonies nowadays are a societal show of one’s economic standards rather than being an emotional event for the families to connect with each other. This depends on the individual’s opinion whether to showcase one’s financial condition or the need to have an emotional connect with their family. Overall, I think it’s fair enough for the people to live their lifestyle in this certain way who have the means to do it. The impact is neither positive nor negative in my opinion; it’s just because of the strong position of social networking sites on people's life.