Wealthy nations should provide assistance to poorer countries with humanitarian relief.

It has been argued that economically backward countries should be helped by first-world nations on humanitarian grounds during natural calamities. I agree with this view because developed countries have resources and technology which could be used for coping with these types of disasters. Also, their expertise in medical sciences helps to mitigate the spread of diseases. To begin with, rich countries are well equipped to deal with disasters that are not man-made. They have a surplus of necessities like drinkable water and non-perishable foods which are of the utmost importance when a calamity strikes. Along with the latest technology which helps with the forecast and ways to minimize impact, developed nations have specially trained people to help during the aftermath. For instance, the European Union has large aircraft which help carry the supplies to areas where the infrastructure has been hit by the disaster. Secondly, developed nations have superior medical technology. Fighting the spread of epidemics is crucial after a natural calamity to reduce the death toll. Well-to-do nations have mobile medical units which help set up clinics efficiently and swiftly wherever needed. For example, the United States of America have a special department US-AID and their sole purpose is to lead the rescue operations internationally where they lack the manpower to deal with calamities. In conclusion, in my opinion, the financially solid countries should assist the developing and third-world states on empathetic terms during natural disasters. This is because they are financially stable due to which they have spare resources and their proficiency in medicine benefits the suffering nation from the spread of disease.