Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

A great number of general viewers opted to watch foreign films due to its high-quality cinematography and flawless story-telling. A plethora of international films depict different storyline that is more unusual and interesting than domestic films. Furthermore, audiences give great attention to foreign artists who are attractive and enticing to local viewers. A good example of this is the Korean wave that swept across the globe. There has been a steady increase of interest in Korean films and series in other parts of the world, particularly in Asia, as they gain more and more viewers. As a matter of fact, Netlix Asia has decided to invest more in Korean movies and series as it has a huge demand in Philippines, Singapore, Indonesia, Japan, China, Malaysia, etc. Hence, 7 out of 10 popular shows in Netlix are mostly Korean. With the popularity of International films, the local film industry has been slowly dying out due to its less demand from the audiences. National Government should provide financial assistance to local film industries by subsidizing a portion of the movie expenses to lower down the costs, and at the same time, help local producers to focus the money on producing high quality films. Furthermore, government should increase the ticket price for international movies to lessen the tight competition between foreign and domestic films. Through this financial support, local films would be able to survive and thrive in the global market. In conclusion, A plethora of General Audiences prefer to patronize international films than domestic films due to its interesting storyline, stunning actors, and outstanding cinematography. As a result, local film industry is hardly surviving and a financial support from the government will be a great help to keep the industry moving and stay relevant in globally competitive market by funding costs in making movies and increase the ticket price for foreign films.