We should rely on our traditional education

We all know that computers can do certain things much faster and more efficiently than humans. In fact, much of our life today depends on what computers do for us. Now, the emergence of artificial intelligence, or AI, is expected to take us to a new level of life. One way to define AI is that it’s an ability of a machine to perform tasks that require human intelligence such as speech recognition and visual perception. This is why AI robots can respond to people telling them to do certain tasks or identify objects on their own. With the ability to process a massive amount of data in a matter of seconds, AI is expected to be useful in a number of fields, from automated driving, language translation to medical care. In the field of nursing care, for example, an AI-based sensor can be used to monitor the health conditions of patients in nursing homes 24 hours a day. Caretakers can rely on the sensor which detects anything unusual and immediately notifies them. AI is also expected to be highly beneficial in enhancing security in our everyday lives. Facial recognition in particular has been adopted by many organizations as a way to verify people’s identities. The machine recognizes facial features of a person and compares the information to its existing data about the person. If the two sets of data match, the person is verified. In this way, AI not only identifies people who want to be correctly identified, but it can help catch criminals by identifying those who are wanted by police. The matching can be done instantly with high accuracy, even a person wearing a face mask or sunglasses can be identified now. While AI benefits our lives in many ways, some people see it as a threat to humanity. McKinsey Global Institute predicts that 40 to 160 million women worldwide may be required to change their jobs by 2030. As we have already seen many clerical tasks being replaced by machines, occupations such as secretaries, receptionists and bookkeepers are more likely to be lost to robots and machines. According to their data, 72% of clerical jobs in advanced countries are held by women. Another group that is likely to be affected is the young generation. This is because many young people tent to get their first jobs as cashiers and servers which are routine-based, and generally do not require much experience. These types of jobs are at a high risk of automation. Is AI going to have an influence on the field of art as well? In 2014, a group of experts in the fields of data science and art history began working on a project titled The Next Rembrandt. It was an attempt to bring Rembrandt van Rijn, a world-famous Dutch artist from the 17th century, back to life by creating a new painting based on the data of his346 artworks. They collected data, analyzed patterns, and let the computer create a new painting that could possibly pass as something made by Rembrandt himself. This project, completed in 2016 startled the world, as the work looked exactly like a real Rembrandt’s painting. Whether or not AI can create art is still debatable, but this project has shown the possibilities of what we can do with data. So what should we expect next? There is no doubt that AI technology will continue to grow and surprise us in many years to come. Some jobs will be lost in the process, but at the same time, such technology is expected to generate new kinds of jobs and business opportunities. It’s up to us to decide whether we adapt or give in to changes.