The plans show Southwest Airport now and next year, after redevelopment.

The plans show Southwest Airport now and next year, after redevelopment. Overall, the airport will be expanded to provide more gates, and the addition of other new facilities will offer more convenience for both departing and arriving passengers. The departures entrance is on the left as one faces the building. Upon entering, passport control and security can be seen straight ahead. After redevelopment, a bag-drop area will be added in the departures hall, before one goes through passport control. Although the check-in counters will be relocated to make room for the new bag-drop area, they will still be right before passport control. The café, on the other hand, will be moved close to the entrances. Once through security, passengers will see some shops, which the airport currently doesn’t have. Ahead is the concourse. At the moment, there are 8 gates and passengers may use a moving walkway to get to their boarding gate. Going forward, the airport will have a much longer concourse with 18 gates so the walkway will be replaced by a sky train. Moving on to the arrivals hall, at present passport control and customs are the only services in the hall. Beginning next year, however, there will be a cafe, ATM machines and car hire arriving passengers can use after clearing the formalities.