we live today in electronic information is it is easier to be conducted by technology yet many people seem no closer to feeling happy in the lives discuss.

The electronic information age that we live in today, certainly makes communicating very quick and easy. It is simple for many people to contact dozens of others every day via computers or phone, but does this make them feel happier? Happiness is difficult to define, but in addition to basic needs like food, shelter or peace, it depends on such things as good health, a loving family and friends, and a satisfying occupation - either job, study or pastime. Whether modern communication has increased people's feelings of happiness is. however, debatable. There are many advantages to being connected electronically. For the price of a local phone call we can stay in touch via email with family or friends around the world. In this way isolation by distance or climate can be overcome. For example, Finland with its long winter has one of the highest rates of internet use. Information that would only be available to a small number of people without the use of computers is now at our fingertips. Similarly thousands of people use charooms and internet dating sites every day On the other hand it seems to be the case that depression and suicide rates are high and the divorce rate is increasing. Employees complain of longer working hours and increased stress levels There is concern that people are in fact becoming more isolated only communication on-line On this evidence they seem unhappier today Happiness is hard to measure, as it is subjective and depends on the particular situation. Perhaps there is more awareness of current problems because so much information is available through technology and the media Even so, il would seem that the quality of our relationship and therefore our level of happiness is unrelated to modern technology, which is after all, only a tool.