Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

Modern weddings are bigger as well as more extravagant than those of the past. Although there are certain disadvantages associated with this trend, the upsides in this case seem to outweigh the downsides. To begin, this trend does have its drawbacks. For one, such weddings set a bad precedent for rest of the society from a financial point of view. In a bid to match the grandeur and extravagence of such weddings, families, especially middle- class and lower- class ones, overspend and sometimes even end up in debt. Another negative aspect the waste that such lavish and grand ceremonies entail. This wastage of huge amounts of food and excessive consumption of electricity are enormous costs to bear for an event that lasts merely a day or two. Despite these drawbacks, however, a stronger case for grandeur and extravagant weddings can be drawn. To elaborate, one aspect of such weddings is that they provide employment to hundreds of people from the lower classes of society. This money that thus flows down from the rich to the poor contributes in narrowing the grave economic disparity this tends to exist between the upper and lower classes of society in most countries. It can also be argued that such grand weddings preserve and even strengthen the social structure since they are an opportunity for many relatives and friends to connect with each other. In conclusion, while there are certain drawbacks to this trend, it is largely beneficial as it works to bridge the rich-poor disparity and to strengthen society.