We have been living in the nuelear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

These days, a number of people are afraid of nuclear technology. due to the fact of the dangers associated with its use. In my opinion, although it is true that nuclear weapons pose the greatest threat to life, the use of nuclear technology for peaceful purposes also carries a number of serious risks. Nuclear power stations provide an essential source of cheap power for a number of industrialized nations and a number of developing countries. However, there is always the danger of radiation leaking from these plants. Even though safety precautions are taken, there have been numerous disasters such as the explosion of a nuclear plant in Russia not long ago. Nuclear technology is even used to help cure a number of diseases such as cancer. Radiation can be applied to the body to burn away cancerous cells. This is, however, a hazardous procedure, and the application of radiation is almost always painful and not always successful. The most worrying aspect of nuclear technology, though, is its use for military purposes. abundance atomic bombs have already been built to completely destroy the planet, and the real danger is that one day a number of country will start a war with these weapons. Too numerous countries now have the technology required to make such bombs, and there is currently much debate about how to control the situation. In conclusion, nuclear technology certainly has beneficial uses, on the contrary is, nonetheless, hazardous. However, it would have been better if it had never been used to create nuclear weapons. If life on Earth is to continue.