Over the past fifty years, international sports events such as the Olympic Games and World Cup competitions have played an increasingly important role in our society. However, these days, many people think such events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort. How far do you agree with the view that such sporting events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort?

People are divided on the issue of hosting Olympic Games. Some individuals opine that it is advantageous People are divided on the issue of hosting Olympic Games. Some individuals opine that it is advantageous to host such occasions, whereas others believe that this could be detrimental for the host country. This essay shall look into both arguments. I, however, side with the former view. To embark upon, There are many advantages that can ensue from hosting such events. Such events would mean a lot of international tourists, which in turn would mean a lot of tourist dollars. For example, during the Olympics many athletes, spectators, officials, sponsors and broadcasters come to the host country and spend money on hotels and restaurants. What is more, the country also earns by selling tickets and selling souvenirs. Additionally, many people acquire employment because of the jobs related to hosting such events. For instance, there are many new jobs in construction projects of Stadia and hotels and also in advertising related to such events. All this improves the overall economy of the people and the country. On the other hand, there can be a number of drawbacks too. It is also easy to see why some people are opposed to hosting such events. The main reason is that the development of that part of the country is at the expense of other parts. This is because the government of the host country usually allocates resources from other parts of the country to that part. Another reason why people are against such events is because of the Olympic drain associated with such events, however, the tourism in the neighboring area suffers, as all visitors are attracted towards the host city. Finally, crime is another factor why people don’t like such events. When many people get together at the same place then there are chances of petty crime and the host city needs to hire more police officers. To conclude, I pen down by retreating that it is clear that there are both — advantages and disadvantages of hosting such events, but on the whole the pros far outweigh the cons.