We have become a disposable society, preferring to buy new products rather than repair existing item. Why do you think this is? How can this trend be reversed?

Changes are unseperatable part of human life and thus replacing the defected items by the new items is not a miracal. As a part of disposable society, disposing trend is increasing day by day. This essay will discuss the reasons responsible for this along with the measures to reverse this trend. Modernization in technology has affected the life of people greatly. Folks by latest equipments in order to keep them updated with the latest technologies and as soon as they found any defect in that equipment they prefer to buy the new equipment instead of having repair the older one. Undoubtedly having well equipped with newly invented items is directly proportional to the status in the society. So in order to raise the status level also people without having thought of the fault in the equipment, dispose it and get the new one from the market. Not only the status but the living standards are also increased parallely with the upcoming technologies. Last but not the least, increasing income of people is also responsible for giving the fire to the trend of replacing the faulty item with the new one. As people have money they do not think about repairing which may be cheaper than the new one and just opt for buying the latest one from the market and wasting their money. For reversing this trend, the government should impose high taxes on the new items and should reduce the repairing taxes. Due to higher taxes on the new items, people will have to thought about inventing it or not and repairing the older one might be the option chosen by most of the people as it will save the money. Not only the government but people should also understand the importance of older item and the memories associated with it. Preserve the importance and memory also people should opt to repair the older item which will also contribute to reverse the disposing trend. In conclusion, repairing the older item will force the manufacturer to manufacture the items which will be long lasting and effective for its customers which will also benefit the customer. Disposal waste can also be reduced by this means. Thus, first we should opt for repairing and if it is not possible then only we should look for the new one.