We can never over emphasize the significance of young children’s education

We can never over emphasize the significance of young children’s education which to a large extent defines an individual’s development and a country’s future. To improve primary education, a government has a lot to do, such as providing preschool education to children and extra training to teachers. In my mind, however, what our government should focus on at this stage is to reduce the size of classes by hiring more teachers. Admittedly, it is vital to help children of school age to be fully prepared before they step in schools and to help teachers to be qualified for their tasks. Undoubtedly, the school life is poles apart from that in kindergarten, which may arouse children’s various negative feelings and make it difficult for them to focus on study. When they feel discomfortable and overstressed, we cannot expect them to study effectively or even grow up happily and healthily. Therefore, it justifies the significance of preschool education, like basic knowledge and disciplines, that helps children of school age to get used to school life in advance and alleviate their nervousness. In addition, it is also necessary for teachers to get extra training, so as to more effectively cater young children’s need and help them get accustomed to school life, such as young children’s psychology. However, the problem that our government has to address first at present is the shortage of primary school teachers. In European countries, there are usually no more than twenty students in a class, while in my country, it is quite common that the number of students in a class exceeds fifty. Facing such a big class, a teacher usually feels powerless and helpless. No matter how much he intends to take good care of each child, there is hardly enough time and energy for him to spare. Consequently, many children in primary school share the same feeling of being not noticed or even ignored, which may contributes to the increasing number of problem children in the country. The unattended children either have a unhappy childhood or develop undesirable personalities and habits. They need teachers’ help and guidance. The only solution is for governments to recruit and train more primary school teachers. To sum up, the priority should be given to the recruitment of more elementary school teachers, in order to further improve primary education. Though it is also important to provide young children preschool education and to provide teachers extra training, the immediate problem is most primary schools are understaffed.