We are living in consumerist culture, where people are buying more and more things. Some people say that this is a positive development, whereas others believe that it has many drawbacks. Do you think the disadvantages of consumerism outweigh its advantages?

Nowaday, rise of consumerism is impacting the developing world and I totally agree that consumerist culture had more drawbacks over benefits. To embark with, the advantage of capitalism. The biggest benefit gained is by economy. To put it in a simple words, as people spend more on buying products it will lead to more production and creates more jobs. Moreover, wages increases and that brings financial stability in middle class family. In contrary to this, debt is one of the result of consumerism. In other words, to meet up the materialistic standard people often take loan from bank or purchase using credit card become more frequent and usually end up reaching the card limit. This directly affects the health due to stress of clearing the mortgage. Secondly, environment degrades immensely as the manufacturing demand grows, the natural resources are consumed heedlessly. Due to use of chemical substances and discarding the waste on land and air which results into pollution. In conclusion, consumerist culture has its own pros such as it improves living standard of people and growth rate of nation. however, the harmful results truly dominate its usefulness