We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer-based technology. How do you think it will change in the future? Is it good for us to rely so much on computers?

Computers play a pivotal role in every sphere of people’s lives. Computers have become an essential part in people’s academic, practical, and social life. People nowadays rely on computer-based technology in doing their businesses, conducting their academic work, even in organizing their social engagements. The growing dependence on computers will control every part of people’s lives. The considerable advance in computer technology will encourage numerous enterprises to expand their businesses and move beyond borders as computers facilitate contact between corporates overseas. Many small companies will be able to launch their businesses on the internet and grow their trade without the need for immense budgets and large premises. On the academic stage, millions of students will be able to attend college without having to travel thousands of miles. Academic research will become easier as thousands of studies and scientific articles will be within one click distance away. Computer technology will change persons’ social lives as they now can see each other, dating, and start a relationship virtually. All these things people have experienced during the lockdown because of coronavirus and the world witnessed how people depend on computers to stay in touch, doing their jobs, and ordering their affairs during the pandemic. Although all what has been written above seems very appealing, it always has its dark side. As computer-based technology became more vital in people’s lives, societies will be more robotic rather than humanistic. Face to face interaction will diminish gradually, and people will let computers make decisions on behalf of them and choose for them what to eat, wear, who will do business with, even who will they date and marry. Students will rely completely on computers for doing school assignments and desert books and libraries for good. They will rely on computers to solve mathematical equations, even doing simple mathematical calculations and this may lead to negative effects on their mental development and they will not be able to improve their social and cognitive skills. Teachers also will start to use computers to assess their students’ abilities and improvements and disregard the importance of their personal assessment and guidance to their students. Companies will assume the new computer technology for carrying out their business rapidly and effectively and decrease their reliance on humans which will result in unprecedented levels of unemployment. To sum up, the swelling reliance on computer-based technology is a double-edged sword; it can ease people lives, build up businesses, boost economies, enrich the academic field, and gives peoples opportunities to learn and grow. On the other hand, it can lead to more social isolation, great levels of unemployment, and delay students’ mental development. It is important to still have the upper hand over using computers and not let new technology control person’s lives.