Water Pollution causes and effects on animals and humans

Water has survived millions of years without humans. But humans cannot survive a single day without water. Gone are the days when one could drink directly from a river. Now one has to risk a variety of illness and chemical poisoning to attempt such a feat. Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. The possible causes of water pollution are many. The long list of shame starts with tall and small factories, draining the ground water for production of goods and pumping out untreated toxic waste into the rivers and drains. The list also includes the population of dense urban cities, who dump decomposable and non-decomposable waste into the water bodies. Introduction of invasive species of flora and fauna into local water bodies, to which the aforementioned species are alien, have also been known to cause pollution. Water pollution has had significant impact on flora and fauna across the globe. The once beautiful lakes of the city of Bangalore, India, that ones used to be home to a plethora of fauna and flora, now, lay barren and frothing with toxic chemicals. This city, which is called the garden city, because of the variety of flora is used to host, now has to resort to artificial flowers to live up to its name. The ecosystems dependant on the water bodies are perishing and have had long lasting effects on various species of plants and animals. Many species of fishes and underwater flora have entered the endangered list over the last decade and are edging close to extinction. Species which are resilient are enduring genetic modifications in order to survive. In addition to aquatic life, terrestrial fauna and flora are also enduring significant damage due to consumption and proximity to polluted water bodies. Plants and animals are sustaining irrevocable damage due to consumption of polluted water. Man, who is the root cause of this evil has not been spared either. The usage of polluted water has triggered many health issues in humans. Some of these issues include cancer which is currently posing as a major challenge for the human race. Cities struggle to find potable water to sustain their population. Cities like Hyderabad, India and nearing to level zero of groundwater. This is a huge threat to the city. It goes without saying that without water man will not survive. A call to action to spread awareness about the issue is the need of the hour. Action along with awareness is the way forward.