Some people believe that universities should only offer places to young students who receive high marks at school. Others think that universities should offer a place to anyone of any age. Discuss and give your opinion.

A common opinion is that in order to pass in some universities, students should be young and have good grades. However, there are some people who argue that this should not be the case and that universities should offer places to students regardless of their age and marks. This essay will discuss both of these views and will provide my own opinion. On the one hand, in today' society, age and outstanding grades are the main factors to be accepted in a university. Many prestigious universities worldwide rely on the grades and marks of the students as a sign of intelligence and great potential. For instance, an excellent student background and exceeded grades might guarantee a direct place to study at the Melbourne university. Furthermore, some universities in Europe are completely clear with the age that they are looking for in students, to start a master, students should be under 25 years old, otherwise, they will not be accepted. These standards and requirements might have some benefits in the academic world and might guarantee these universities more quality in investigation and procedures and the creation of new knowledge. On the other hand, these requirements might have some negatives long-term effects in society and individuals. If universities accept students based only on high grades and age, there might be not enough professionals in the future. If few students are admitted in the courses, in the end, it is likely that just a few of them will fully complete their courses, which might be a problem in society. Moreover, these standards might create disappointment in some students as they might feel left behind. Some students are still having potential and talent without good grades and the right age. If they are rejected in these universities, their dreams and personal project might fade. In conclusion, there is no doubt that high grades and age might guarantee some good outcomes for universities and society. However, nowadays, there are a lot of students seeking a place in universities. To me, It would not be fair to just be based on these two requirements when admitting students into superior studies.