Watching TV shows and movies about crime is becoming more and more popular. Why is this? What effect does that have on society?

I have read some crime novel and movies as well. Also in Japan where I live, the kind of topic is popular because not only novel and movie but also there are some famous comics which main theme is crime. I guess there are 3 factos why the works related to crime attract a lot of people and I would dig deeply into each factor below. There is a space to guess who the criminal is. That is the important factor to attract the audience. In case of a action movies, we just follow the stories the director created. Of course some audience will guess what will happe in next scene but mainly audience is passive when watching it. While we have some space to guess who criminal is in the crime novel and movie. It can be said that we can “ join “ into the story while using our brain and it will be exciting experience. The crime fiction has “ reality “. If the story has reality which along with their life, audience will be more attracted. In crime novel, the author describes quite details of their life, which is like pattern of behavior of us. It makes audience feel the incindent happens around you and finally they will be into the story. The audience put themselve into the character in the novel and their emotion will be shaked by happening in the novel. Nobody knows the ending until they finish read it. Recently, we can access to many movie in Netflix and it become easier to guess the ending than before. In other words, we get used to same template of movie. But the crime movie and novel is too complicated to judged eariler point. We need to check the facts one by one and something unexpecred happened. Then some audience would give up guessing who criminal is and try to read it quicker. According to strcuture of the story, the audience will not feel bored until the end of story. These factors make the crime story more attractive and I feel I want to read it too after describing the feature of crime novel and movie.